Drizzle.

The light drizzle coated everything. It was my saving grace, a veil around my face. I told her once I would never leave, well I told her more than once.

She often smiled and shook her head, and said, “you’ll leave me.”

In the drizzle my eyes were hot and the rain hid the truth. I told her that I loved her. I smiled a smile of love and let the rain wash away the truth.

“See,” she said with wonder.

“I know,” I said with grief.

I laughed as the rain took me. The truth is I was weak. 

I loved her enough to leave her and in the end the rain was fine.

I turned to finally see her and said, “just can’t wait in line.”

Leave a Reply

