Somber Doldrums.

The twilight seemed almost surreal. The light dwindling like a fire left to burn. The slow coals of the night taking control and the buzz of insects roaring. The summer day was holding its heat against me, almost like a touch from a distant friend. Like those touches it slowly released and the cool of night hastened the goodbye.

I sat and watched the world, watched the stars come out to dance. I heard the whispers of things unseen and saw nothing in the darkness that grew. Sometimes when I am alone in this last moment of twilight, I listen hard.

I listen beyond the drone, beyond the breeze and hear myself as a small voice against the big world. I don’t know what I am saying, but i will return to listen again.

Leave a Reply

