Run.

The air escaped my lungs like a slow leak from a bicycle tire worn through from summer after summer of hard riding. I could hear it feel it, fuck, I could practically see it. The grass under me was dry and stabbing me with needles and itch. I wanted to get up wanted to keep running, but my body was now my enemy and I had lost any battle I was in.

I waited eyes growing heavy. I waited for the inevitable dark that had been chasing me for hours. How do you fight the dark? The answer is you can’t, you run always trying to stay ahead of it. You keep in the light chase the light with everything you have. You have to want it more than anything, reach so deep that you can do the miraculous.

I wanted it so badly that I broke the bonds of my limitations. I ran faster, jumped higher, I pushed until I practically flew! And then I did. I felt gravity give up fighting my desires. I saw my feet leave the ground and not need land again. I soared toward the light and even though it ran from me, I kept up. I was going to beat the darkness behind me.

The wind rushed through my hair. Speed was key, I had to be fast. The light was there and all around me. As long as I was in it I was winning. The only problem was I wasn’t winning I just didn’t realize I was losing.

It was in the speed. I wasn’t really as fast as I thought and the dark was not far behind me. Soon I could see the horizon behind me and see the shadow creeping miles behind. As time passed the shadow approached. I was losing as I was tiring. It seemed even flying took its toll.

The sky was darker. I looked all around me and saw the twilight of the evening encroaching. My breath always gave it away. When I was running, jumping and now flying, the limits were not broken. I pushed myself harder, concentrating on nothing but the light. I felt speed, felt the wind pick up and then the crush in my lungs.

I fell and now I am lying here in the dry grass. The sky slowly turning and soon my enemy will find me. Even now I can hear its growl. I can hear its claws clicking in the dry dirt. An echo in the distance getting closer.

My arm is numb, my breath getting shorter and weaker. I can’t fight the dark. I see the last of the light in my life go dark and I know I have lost the long fight. It is all around me now. The teeth digging into my flesh as the darkness swims around me, stalking me…I let go of the needle and I am gone.

 

Leave a Reply

